Skip to content

Thursday…

February 4, 2010

Thursday, a day usually reserved for nothing but thoughts of Burn Notice and The Office (with a special space reserved for Community) has become a day of thought.  Well, not lots of thought… just more thought than usual. 

I’m already bored.  You still here? 

First, I harbor extreme amounts of jealousy over people with amazing creative talents.  Yeah, I can sing alright and play a couple of instruments (at least in rhythm).  I take about 425 pictures to get 25 good ones.  I can finish 29 out of 33 of these word puzzles before resorting to Google.

But I can’t do this.  What?!  Seriously, my favorite is X, which stands for “X-ray Wolf”.  (Be sure you’re checking out the flash version for all the best fun.)

Or this.  I mean, shut up.

Or this.  I am going home immediately to collaborate with the brothers. We’ll make a list of quotes and put one together for our family!  ‘Cause I know HOW to do this stuff, just don’t come up with it myself.

Or this.  Because it would involve patience.  Ahem…moving on.

Second, I’ve been thinking about how much I like music.  I mean, really really really like music.  So I thought up today’s list of can’t-stop-listening-to ditties:

“Everywhere That I Go” by Israel Houghton
“Need You Now” & “American Honey” by Lady Antebellum
“Fugitive” by David Gray
“Typical” by Mutemath
“Smoke of a Distant Fire” by Sanford Townsend Band
“Breathe” by Taylor Swift & Colbie Caillat
“Uprising” by Mutemath
“Highway 20 Ride” by Zac Brown Band
“Hold Me Now” by Hillsong United
“New York State of Mind” by Jay-Z & Alicia Keys
“TiK ToK” by Ke$ha  (oh, I’m ashamed enough for the both of us)
“Only Love” by Wynona Judd
“Ramblin’ Gamblin’ Man” by Bob Seger
“Never Be Shaken” by Jared Anderson
“Death and All His Friends” by Coldplay

Third, aviator sunglasses are particularly rad.

Fourth, why doesn’t everyone work out? Oh, yes. That would be because of the searing pain that accompanies every action from stretching to breathing.  And typing.  And moving.

I’ve been working out on a fairly regular schedule for about a month (for the first time since 2003… seriously). My friend Sarah and her husband Mike have been meeting me at the gym every morning at 5:30 am (balls!) and we were all content to just do cardio and call it a day. Well, General Mike decided that we would all be going through bootcamp and he’s been kicking the crap out of us every day this week. I literally couldn’t straighten my legs on Tuesday. 

Sarah and I have been pushing through, aided by our newfound joy at changing Mike’s nickname from General Mike to General Tso (Sarah’s) and Spicy Chicken (mine). 

My ultimate goal is to come out lookin’ more fresh-to-death than a Jersey Shore cast member. 

Gym. Tanning. Laundry.

Last, I’ve been thinking about my budding photography business a lot lately.  How to grow, where to spend money, the pratfalls & lessons learned (website, blog, online proofing, etc.), and the realizations I’ve had about myself and my expectations.  There are LOTS of them.  Most involve taxes. 

So I think I am going to try and post a few things about my experience and maybe help someone else just getting started not fall into the same traps I did.  Trust me, I am a business simpleton, but if I can keep you from a couple of the things I did wrong, you might have a chance!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

